Sunshine Blogger Award

Another day, another accolade. I wish my hard work and dedication was so well recognised by my boss in my paid job! Oh wait, my paid job is at that place where I avoid work at all costs and write travel blogs and make holiday plans all day long instead? Result. I’ll take that as a win.

In all seriousness, its lovely to hear that somebody (anybody!) is reading and enjoying my posts. Sometimes this can feel like a lonely, never-ending notepad but other times it feels inspirational, gets the creative juices flowing and fills my head with knowledge that would otherwise pass me by. My nominator, Jennifer writes one such blog that inspires, amuses and educates me. She’s been travel blogging for a solid year and has a tidy website full of stories, tips, information and even interviews with fellow travellers. For more by Jennifer; check her out at exploreadventurediscover.wordpress.com/ (it’s a great name, isn’t it?).

The Sunshine Award is given by bloggers to other bloggers, who ‘are positive and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.’ Jennifer certainly writes a helpful and creative blog that keeps me clicking back for more. Again, thanks for the nomination girl; sending lots of positivity your way and hopefully some clicks too…


Here are the rules for the Sunshine Blogger Award:

•Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.

•Answer the eleven questions sent by the person who nominated you.

•Nominate eleven blogs to receive the award and write them eleven new questions.

•List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or your blog.


Answers to Jennifer’s Questions:

 

  1. When did you start blogging and why?
    I think I am about 5 months into the blogging scene and began because I wanted a place to keep a note of all the travels The Wife and I have been on whilst also being able to learn from other travellers in the process,  Our travelling had got us to the point where I realised a few things. Firstly, I don’t ever want to forget these incredible journeys – I need to write them down! Secondly, we always seem to get ourselves into funny & amusing situations – I need to write these down! Thirdly, we have picked up lot of wisdom and tips that would be useful to others – l need to write these down! So… I wrote them down…
  2. What is the most inspirational book you have read?  Why?
    I don’t really ‘do’ inspirational books, I’m sorry to say. I’ve read autobiographies of people I admire, travel books on places I’d always dreamed of visiting and fiction books so far-fetched that you’d question reality but… as far as inspirational… I’d have to pass on that one. “Be your own inspiration” – I just made up that quote… not sure if it works… comment below! 🙂
  3. What is the biggest thing you have done outside your comfort zone?  How did it go?
    Wow, I am pretty much the worst at these sorts of questions. I’m very relaxed and easing going; I don’t get nervous or scared all too much. Looking back at things that I may have done outside my comfort zone I can’t really think of many extremities outside of the norm. Perhaps I do need to challenge myself more… well that’s depressing.
  4.  Name a few favourite places you have travelled.
    To point out the enjoyable varied and diverse places I have travelled to I guess I would point to Havana, Marrakech, Prague, Bangkok and Sydney. I suppose its pretty evident that I like the bright lights and busy cities more than the beachlife; however my favourite part of these cities are the suntraps, secret gardens and hidden oasis-es  that are tucked away and waiting to take you by surprise. I like to have the world at my feet but also be able to make an escape within a short commute! All that being said, I think one of my favourite places in the world in Las Vegas. I know its not your average travel-bloggers idea of paradise what with its tacky, consumerist, greedy underbelly however I love the no-limits, do anything-anytime, constantly evolving, anything is possible atmosphere – though after a few nights in Vegas I am definitely ready for another break…
  5. If you were to spend the rest of your life on a desert island, what three things would you take with you and why?
    A hammock. I’ve never owned a hammock but whenever I see one I definately run to it. The second item would be a football, endless entertainment for a lad trapped on an Island and if all else fails and I go crazy then he can be my Wilson. Finally, I would take a photo album of The Wife and our times together; this will help me get through the tough times and cheer me up, daily. In fact, f#@k me this sounds like a bloody good plan and would make a great blog post…. ! ha
  6. What is your favourite way to spend the weekend?
    Start with a big lay in. Down the cafe for a full English breakfast (chips over hash browns). Then onto the city with The Wife and my camera/phone to snap away at the sights. We’d have lunch with a view before heading home for refresh. Out again in the evening for some classy beverages and perhaps a comedy show or something funny with a big group of friends. A chill Sunday comes next, complete with Sunday Roast, sofa lounging and a watching a good movie whilst hiding below the covers with pick n mix, chocolate and popcorn; I’d pick a typical Danish Hygge kind of day.
  7. How have your goals and dreams changed in the last ten years?
    The need to own a house or save for a rainy day has fallen away to enjoying living in the now and to make myself/ourselves happy. We saved to get married which was a large goal. We’ve got a lovely home, albeit rented and I drive a car that I love. We’re slowly ticking off the list of ever-growing places we’d love to visit and all is well in the DreamFlyDiscover household. I suppose the only thing I’d like next would be a complete career change and get involved with Travel; which would not have been on the radar 10 years back.
  8. If you were a child again, what would you tell your adult self?
    Wow, talk about turning a question on its head… ermmmm… if I took advise from my younger self I can only imagine I’d just turn out to be a big child really. I would still be kicking a football against a wall or something… I would have had nothing intelligent or inspirational to say and no life experience that would better me now; all those thoughts came to me much later in life!!
  9. What is your favourite food?
    If I had to pick my final meal, on death row for example, I would definitely pick a full on English Sunday Roast dinner. Crispy goose-fat potatoes, well cooked, seasoned lamb (I’d settle for lemon chicken), Yorkshire puddings, carrots, butternut squash, broccoli. I’d probably leave the broccoli but it adds colour, right? That being said, I could eat a bar of chocolate at any time in any place and feel elation. Chocolate gravy… would that work?
  10. How has blogging surprised you?
    It has surprised me that people read what I have to say! I started my blog to note my journey, to myself. To remember the good times and share some stories in a fun, conversational kind of tone. I also read blogs that are inspiring, thought-provoking and educational and I have learned many tips that I bring with me on my travels. I’ve realised that blogs are the best source around for travel content as well as hearing real peoples opinions on real topics.
  11. How do you think the blogging industry will have changed in ten years time?
    Well that’s a tough one… I’d like to see more recognition. I’d like blogs being quoted in national press, like the way news reports and online articles constantly quote/rip comments and ideas from twitter. Anybody can write a witty comment or make a off the cuff remark but they are so limited in context and content what with them being limited to X characters long. These twitter quotes are a flash in the pan yet can still get national recognition. A lot of the content I find in blogs (particularly travel) are written by real people with real experiences and surviving on real budgets compared with most travel magazines and articles in print that have limitless funds and really unachievable realities. Often you’ll find a glitzy article something along the lines of…”Come to *insert city* and experience *insert activity* and stay at the fabulous 12 star *insert hotel name* and then go on to read the small print where we confess the flights and hotel were given to us for free to write this article”. Amazing.Don’t get me wrong, I envy that job so so much (if it even exists) but it isn’t reality- and yet people still read it!!?!? Its completely scandalous. Come at me, press.

And my 11 Questions:

  1. When did you start blogging and why?
  2. How did you pick the name for your blog?
  3. How do you come up with new ideas for you next blog post?
  4. What does the future hold for your blog?
  5. Where is your favourite holiday destination?
  6. Name two celebrities (one male, one female) that you would love to travel with and why.
  7. Name 3 essential items you have to pack whenever you travel.
  8. What is your travel style? Champagne and Caviar or Hostels and Hangovers?
  9. What’s the funniest travel story you can remember?
  10. What does the future hold for your travel plans?
  11. What is the main goal of your blog?/Where do you want it to take you?

My Nominations:

theinvisibledisabilityandme.co.uk – Raising awareness of SSHL and general hearing loss issues

walestowherever.com/ – New on my radar but very enjoyable travel blog

onewomanonebackpack.wordpress.com/ – Great writing style and a v busy lady!

missmaps.com/ – Watch one woman take on the entire world

myhopelessgypsysoul.com/ – Travel stories and cutting travel issues

thelittlemermeg.wordpress.com/ Back after a break, home of some top travel lists
frombluetogreen.com/ – Thorough travel blog with atmospheric photography

hopejoanne.wordpress.com/ – A very tidy, fairly new travel blog
from9to5toclearblueskies.wordpress.com/ – In depth, thorough travel tales

theuncommoneur.wordpress.com – Detailed stories and top listings

divyadeepakrao.com Great photography where food and art meet travel.

Well done, guys!


Thanks for sticking by me and making it to the end! Congratulations to all of those who I nominated; You’ve been picked because I enjoy your blogs and I have singled you out as a worthy winner. Please feel free to pass this on to your 11 favourites and be sure to link back to me too! 🙂 Have a sunshiny day y’all and keep Dreaming, Flying and Discovering*. (*#cringe)

Laptop- dreamflydiscover

Show some love by checking out my social media accounts. The best way possible to stay up with all the latest from DreamFlyDiscover. New blogs semi-weekly-ish, kinda, mostly.

Facebook – Dream Fly Discover
Instagram – Dream Fly Discover

Twitter – DrmFlyDscvr
Tumblr – Dream Fly Discover

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

