The Truth About Travel Blogging…

Yikes. I haven’t posted a blog in 2 whole weeks. That’s the longest I haven’t engaged with my audience since my blog began 9 months ago (except for when I’ve been away discovering new cities, countries or continents). But such is life. You see, I wouldn’t exactly class myself as your ‘typical’ travel blogger…

Some of my favourite travel blogs are written by people on the road; living out their fantasies and my wildest dreams. ‘The Gap Year’, ‘Daddy’s Trust Fund’ or the classic ‘World on a Shoestring Budget‘ blog- I subscribe to them all. It’s easy to read these blogs as they are everywhere- and constantly updated. However, my style of travel has to fit around my work schedule and my busy life in general. I’ll work for 11 months of the year just so that I can escape for 1. This means I can’t blog everyday, I won’t always have new stories to tell and this page may not be the hub of all-things-wanderlust as I’d wish it was. My life isn’t always day after day of travelling to new cities or exploring new cultures- so when we do get the chance to get away from London living we do like to go all-out-ker-azy…

“CarlVersusLife is one the craziest, funniest travel blogs out there. I love his style of writing, his humour and commitment to keeping it real. The fact he paid me £5 for this quote has nothing to do with how much I love the guy. I love you man!!”


– Dave (Drunk) 23, We met outside a Kebab shop.

On that subject, I wonder if other bloggers feel under pressure to write blogs on a regular basis. Or if they feel forced to keep their audiences up to date with each lunch they eat and every bowel movement. Are these stories born out of a genuine passion for blogging?– or is it a need to feel relevant, up-to-date and to raise their subscriber numbers just by pure volume of posts and regular content. I mean, that’s what it’s all about.. .right? Building a large readership and constant returning clicks. Getting your audience to crave more of your story. Then from here you can turn your blog into an advertising board. Sure, you take the risk of paying for self-hosting, but with the possible rewards of a small income from ad revenue. Isn’t that what we all long for? Making money from travelling so we can travel more?? Something about this whole practice seems a bit… erm… self-indulgent? narcissistic? Both of these things I am not. However, I’d love to see some financial return- who wouldn’t. But do I deserve it? No. Am I chasing it? Hell no. I do that 5-6 days a week in my day job; why on earth would my down-time be the same?

“Would I enjoy spending a week secluded on a dessert island ? I mean… that’s a no brainer. I love dessert. Ice cream, profiteroles, custard, cake, chocolate. Where do I sign?”

– Me. My rushed fingers are prone to the odd spelling mistake. Doh.

So I’ll keep writing my free blog as and when it suits ME. If I gain some subscribers I know that’s its because genuine content like this are keeping them returning (either that or they like the prettier stories and glam pictures). There’s been no updates to my blog lately as I’ve simply been too busy at work and at play; not because I have nothing to say. In fact, I’ve umpteen blogs planned out but I just haven’t had the time to put the plan to paper. I’d love to have a little more consistency however my work schedule doesn’t allow it unless I plan the blogs way in advance. Unlike 99% of my posts, this one was unplanned and I managed to squeeze it into a 10 minute slot- unlike my usual blogs which may take up to a few hours to plan, write, find photos for and upload (usually spread across 15 minutes slots over a few days!).

So all this being said and done; why do I post? What’s my end goal?

I began this journey by sharing my stories in order to keep a log for myself. This quickly evolved into making people smile or giggle at some of my many mishaps. I learned from blogging that I can use other people’s travel experience to better prepare for my own adventures- and I had a knowledge to share to help others too. Sure, I’d love to be on top of Google when you search for travel blogs and wanderlust– however, I refuse to be a blogger who makes pointless posts (Top 5 Things NOT To Bring On An Airplane!), sensational click bait headlines (You’ll NEVER Believe This Pilot’s Announcement…) or ridiculous musing not related to travel (My Favorite Sandwich). I know how to, but I choose not to.

I hope this didn’t come off like too much of a rant. I just wanted to update you.

  1. I’m still here
  2. I’m busy working
  3. I have a whole host of blogs planned when I get the chance
  4. I will never be a post-for-the-sake-of-posting type of travel blogger
  5. I refuse to write sensational titles, do stupid lists and post blogs not wholey about travel…oh… wait…. shit… my bad. #irony #ifyoudontknowmebynow…

I’m not currently on the move, but please take comfort in the fact that whilst I am not travelling I am still able to write a kick-ass travel blog. When your next favourite travel blogger returns home they may have nothing to say at all…

“I love that our suitcase glides along the ground. Look at all these fools pulling their cases on two wheels. I feel like a boss”

-Me, every time I’m at an airport with my 4 wheels glidey case.

carlvlife

Coming up in the next few months…. Frankfurt Christmas Market (one month today!! Eeek!!!), Exploring Reykjavik, Beautiful Budapest, Pandering Around Poland, Downtime in Dubrovnik plus all of the regular old times stories including the concluding parts of my Upside Down Heart Tour (I’ve penned Ho Chi Minh City and it’s fantastic!) plus more Travel Fails, City Reviews and heartfelt outbursts about not having enough time to blog. Boo hoo.


Right, I’m off to enjoy my microwave dinner, Westworld box set and life in the real world following my 48 hour working week. London living, ey? Got to love it…

“People like to read about the things they want the most and experience the least”

-Bernard Lowe, Westworld

7 thoughts on “The Truth About Travel Blogging…

  1. I’m the exact same way, it’s so easy to fall into the “travel blogger” mold but sometimes life isn’t that way. I like to read your posts because they’re so honest and genuine … that’s what keeps me coming back! (I try and write the same way!)

    Like

  2. That’s the beauty of blogging though, if you’re not seeking to make mega bucks out of it then it’s a nice hobby on the side and there’s no pressure to churn out content for the sake of it just to gain likes/followers. I very rarely blog and hit publish immediately – scheduling posts works better for me as I can fit blogging around my teaching hours and marking! As always, look forward to reading your upcoming posts 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks chick. I do blog for the fun of it but at the same time every view count or like or comment makes me smile immensely- if I work a little harder I’ll get more smiles per day I suppose. Perhaps I’ll take your advice, finish my next blog and schedule it. That’ll give me a little time to write and schedule the next one and so on. I’d love to have a weekly schedule. Glad to see a regular face in the comments 🙂 See you again soon, I hope.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m much the same – it makes my day when someone’s viewed/liked/commented on a post, but equally my blog is just a bit of fun for me. Somehow I find scheduling just makes it that bit more manageable – especially at the moment when I’m ploughing through never-ending piles of marking (end of term problems) You sure will, your posts never fail to amuse me 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with you about not posting just for the sake of posting. One of the reasons I enjoy reading your blog! I’ve been in a bit of a dry spell lately, but we’ve got some trips coming up so hopefully I’ll have more interesting things to write about.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

